Get Inspired With Inspirational Book Targeting

Reaching fans of inspirational, spiritual, and religious books has never been easier. By drawing on the same principles that apply to book advertising campaigns of any genre, AdBiblio’s spiritual and inspirational book targeting finds the right readers in the right places at the right time. In our recent blog post about romance book advertising, I talked about the 5 pillars of book targeting: demographics, sites, traits, locations, and parallels. Spiritual and religious titles can leverage these same complementary approaches to identify optimal readers.


 

inspirational-targeting-wheel-image

 

Site Targeting

Displaying your book ads on relevant websites has always been a staple of online advertising. While we feel strongly that new ad technology has rendered site targeting just one piece of a larger puzzle, it’s still a critical component – especially when paired with additional targeting methods like demographics, traits, locations and parallels to hone in on specific website visitors instead of blasting out your ad to everyone. Identifying key sites to target with your spiritual book ad is a great way of making sure you’re reaching an audience that has already demonstrated interest in the type of content you’re promoting. A book relating to Christianity and politics would be a great match for a site like The Christian Post, while a title about relationships from the perspective of the Jewish faith could reach an engaged audience on JDate.

 

Demographic Targeting

While many inspirational titles appeal to broad demographic audience, some books may be particularly geared towards a specific sex, age range, marital status, or household composition. Narrowing in on the target reader demographic from day one of the campaign will ensure that the people seeing your book ad are more likely to be interested in the book’s content. For example, if you’re promoting a title related to navigating divorce, showing the ad to single readers is naturally much less likely to drive engagement than focusing exclusively on married couples. Similarly, it would make the most sense to show a book ad about instilling faith-based or spiritual principles in children primarily to parents and grandparents.

demographic-targeting-image

 

 

Trait Targeting

A lot of the fun happens when it comes to trait targeting. This is when it’s time to really get inside the head of your potential readers. Imagine a person who you think would absolutely love the title you’re promoting. Who is this person? What do they like to do, besides reading your book? What is their life like, what does their family look like, what kind of job might they have? It’s kind of like creating a character for a novel! A book intended primarily for Muslim readers could reach an engaged audience by targeting people who attend a mosque, shop at a halal butcher shop, and are fans of movies like “The Message.”

 

 

Location Targeting

In a similar vein to trait targeting, another great way of reaching your audience is finding them at specific relevant locations. City, state, or zip code targeting can reach regions like Pennsylvania Amish country or Bible Belt states. You can also leverage AdBiblio’s powerful Proximity Targeting to serve your inspirational book ads to readers in precise locations – for example, Christian readers currently inside of a Lifeway or Family Christian store, or who are at Hillsong Conference.

places-of-worship-image

 

Title Parallels

The 5th key tenet of inspirational targeting is considering title parallels. What other titles or authors would your book’s key readers also be a fan of? A more agnostic spiritual book might pair well with popular titles like The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle, The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom, and The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren. An Amish romance novel, on the other hand, would be perfect for fans of authors like Amy Lillard, Kelly Long, and Kathleen Fuller.

 

 

If you’d like to see a detailed proposal of how AdBiblio can target your inspirational or religious title, reach out to Mary Beth at marybeth@adbiblio.com!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

*

*